• Cymraeg
  • Skip to Content

The Council

We are  one of the largest and most diverse employers in South West Wales employing over 9000 people providing services across a rural county to a population of around 184,000 (2011 Census).

The Council

The Council comprises 74 elected Councillors representing 58 Electoral Wards from a range of political groups. They normally meet as a Council on a monthly basis. 

They are the decision makers and agree the Council’s policies, budget and spending priorities.

Executive Board

Ten of the Council’s members make up the Executive Board, including the Leader of the Council. 

The Executive Board is responsible for taking most of the Council’s major decisions and decides how resources are used to deliver services in the county.

Executive Board Members are responsible for decision making within specific areas of interest, known as portfolios. 

Corporate Management Team

The Corporate Management Team, led by the Chief Executive, oversees the day-to-day operation of the council's services.

The Council’s Corporate Structure is made up of five Directorates:

  1. Chief Executives
  2. Education and Children
  3. Resources
  4. Community Services
  5. Environment

Supporting the Democratic Decision Making Process

The Democratic Services Unit administers meetings of the Council, Executive Board and Committees of the Council.

Producing meeting agendas, attending meetings and recording the decisions made and also providing advice on the law and practice of meetings to Councillors, officers and the public. 

The unit also provides administrative support to all 74 Councillors.

The unit will advise you on your rights to attend meetings and how to go about submitting petitions or any other query you may have about how the Council and its Committees work.

do it online