Chairman 2017/18

The Chairman of Carmarthenshire County Council for 2017/2018 is Councillor Irfon Jones. Councillor Jones  was elected to the office of Chairman at the Annual meeting of the Council held on 24th May 2017, and will serve until the next Annual Meeting which will be held in May 2018.

Councillor Jones  has represented the Cynwyl Elfed Electoral Ward since 2012.  He represented the Newchurch Ward  from 1996 until May 1999.  He is also a member of Bronwydd Community Council, and a former member of Carmarthen District Council, having been elected in 1987.

A native of Bronwydd, Councillor Jones still lives in Bronwydd with his wife Jean. The Chairman is a retired Sales Manager. He is a life member of the Carmarthen Quins Club, and is involved with Myrddin Probus, Bronwydd Village Hall and Bronwydd Cricket Club.  He is also a Founder Member of Bro Myrddin Indoor Bowling Club, and a member of Carmarthen Golf Club.

The Chairman is the first citizen of Carmarthenshire County Council, and is elected at the Annual General Meeting.  Duties include chairing full meetings of the Council, representing the Council at formal and ceremonial occasions in the County and beyond.  He welcomes visitors to the County and attends and supports events organised by local people and organisations.

During his / her year of office the Chair of the County Council usually raises funds for local charities.  Councillor Jones will be continuing this excellent work.

The Vice-Chairman for 2017/2018 is Councillor Mansel Charles.

Page updated on: 19/03/2018