Police and Crime Commissioner Elections

Page updated on: 15/10/2020

Voters in 41 police force areas in England and Wales (excluding London) will be electing a Police and Crime Commissioner for their force area on May 6th 2021.

Police and Crime Commissioners (PCCs) are elected representatives who oversee how crime is tackled in a police force area. Their aim is to cut crime and to ensure the police force is effective. They are elected for a four-year term. 

Pembrokeshire County Council is the lead authority, or PARO-Police Area Returning Officer- for the Dyfed Powys Police Area, which covers Carmarthenshire, Ceredigion, Pembrokeshire and Powys.

These elections use the Supplementary Voting system where voters are able to choose a first preference and a second preference candidate. 

When the first preference votes have been counted, if no candidate has an overall majority (more than 50%) the second preference votes for the top two candidates are then counted. First preference and second preference votes for these two candidates are then added together, and the candidate with the highest total wins the election. 

Each local authority will count their own votes and provide these to Pembrokeshire PARO. Once all the results are collated, we will declare who is elected as PCC for Dyfed Powys Police area and this web page will be updated. 

For candidate and agent queries relating to the PCC elections, please email: electoralservices@pembrokeshire.gov.uk.

A dedicated website is available, providing essential information at: www.pembrokeshire.gov.uk/elections-and-voting

Council & Democracy