Senedd Cymru Elections

Page updated on: 24/02/2021

Elections for the Senedd Cymru/Welsh Parliament take place every five years.

There are 60 elected Members of the Senedd (MSs) and you are represented by five of them. One MS represents your Senedd Constituency- there are two Constituencies that fall within Carmarthenshire – Carmarthen East and Dinefwr Constituency and Llanelli Constituency and the other four all represent your region (Mid and West Wales).

The Senedd Cymru/Welsh Parliament represents the people of Wales. It has the power to make decisions in the following areas:

  • agriculture, fisheries, forestry, and rural development
  • ancient monuments and historic buildings
  • culture
  • economic development
  • education and training
  • the environment
  • fire and rescue services
  • health and health services
  • highways and transport
  • housing
  • industry
  • local government
  • public administration
  • social welfare
  • sport and recreation
  • tourism
  • town and country planning
  • water and flood defence
  • the Welsh language

The Senedd Cymru/Welsh Parliament can make laws in these areas, known as Parliament Bills. These laws are unique to Wales and will reflect the specific needs and concerns of people in Wales.

The UK Government retains control of certain public services and areas of legislation, such as responsibilities for the police service, social security and employment.

When you vote in the Senedd Cymru/Welsh Parliament election you have two votes – one to elect your constituency member and one to elect your regional member:

Carmarthen East and Dinefwr Constituency or Llanelli Constituency

In the constituency ballot, you choose the candidate you want to represent you directly.

The constituencies follow the boundary of the County of Carmarthenshire.

Regional: Mid and West Wales

In the regional ballot, you choose from a list of party or independent candidates to represent your region i.e. you do not vote for an individual candidate.

The Mid and West Wales Region includes the following Constituencies within 5 Counties:

  • Brecon and Radnorshire
  • Carmarthen East and Dinefwr
  • Carmarthen West and South Pembrokeshire
  • Ceredigion
  • Dwyfor Meirionnydd
  • Llanelli
  • Montgomeryshire
  • Preseli Pembrokeshire.

Ceredigion County Council is the lead authority for the region – the Regional Returning Officer (RRO).

​​Each local authority will count their own votes and provide these to Ceredigion RRO. Once all the results are collated, the RRO will declare who has been elected for the Mid and West Wales Region and the result will be published on this website. This will be on Friday, 7th May 2021.

For Senedd Cymru Elections, you must be:

  • Registered to vote: If you’re not already registered, visit
  • Sixteen or over on the day of the election – 6th May 2021.
  • A British, Irish, EU, or qualifying Commonwealth citizen*.
  • A qualifying foreign citizen who has permission to enter or stay in the UK, or who doesn’t need such permission.

*A qualifying Commonwealth citizen is someone who has leave to enter or remain in the UK or does not require such leave. The list of qualifying countries, British Crown Dependencies and British Overseas Territories can be found on the Electoral Commission website.

Students cannot vote twice in the Senedd Cymru elections and would be committing an offence if they did so. They should choose whether to vote at their home or university address and arrange a postal or proxy vote as necessary.

The following groups are legally excluded from voting in Wales:

  • A convicted person (though remand prisoners, as yet not convicted prisoners and civil prisoners can vote if they are on the electoral register).
  • Anyone found guilty within the previous five years of corrupt or illegal practices in connection with an election.

Council & Democracy