Chair 2020 - 21

Page updated on: 08/10/2020

The Chair of Carmarthenshire County Council for 2020/2021 is Councillor Ieuan Davies.

He was elected to the office of Chair at the Annual meeting of the Council held on 10th June 2020, and will serve until the next Annual Meeting which will be held in May 2021.
Councillor Davies has represented the Llanybydder Electoral Ward since 1995.

Ieuan was born and raised in Llanybydder and is a well-known figure in the area, owning a hairdresser shop.

He is also a member of Llanybydder Community Council and Pencarreg Community Council.

He works hard in his community, and is Chair of Llanybydder & Lampeter Branch Cancer Committee, local Poppy Appeal Organiser, and founding member and trustee of Llanybydder Old School Community Centre.

He is a member of the Council’s Planning Committee, Vice-Chair of the Social Care & Health Scrutiny Committee, and Vice-Chair of the Housing Review Panel, and sits on the Governing Body of Llanybydder CP School.

The Chair is the first citizen of Carmarthenshire County Council, and is elected at the Annual Meeting. The duties include chairing full meetings of the Council and representing the Council at formal and ceremonial occasions in the County and beyond. He / she also welcomes visitors to the County and attends and supports events organised by local people and organisations.

During his / her year of office the Chair of the County Council usually raises funds for local charities. Councillor Davies will continue this excellent tradition and will be supporting Prostate Cancer and St Peter’s Church, Llanybydder.

The Vice-Chair for 2020/2021 is Councillor Eirwyn Williams.