Chair 2024 - 25

Page updated on: 21/06/2024

The Chair of Carmarthenshire County Council for 2024/2025 is Councillor Handel Davies.

He was elected to the office of Chair at the Annual meeting of the Council held on 22nd May 2024, and will serve until the next Annual Meeting which will be held in May 2025.
Councillor Davies has represented the Llandovery Electoral Ward since May 2017.

Councillor Davies is a member of the Council’s Communities, Homes & Regeneration Scrutiny Committee, and sits on the Governing Body of Ysgol Rhys Prichard and represents the Council on The Dorothy May Edwards Charity (Ysgol Pantycelyn area); The Mary Elizabeth Morris Charity, Ysgol Pantycelyn, Llandovery; The Cambrian Mountains Initiative Partnership Board; and the Heart of Wales Line Forum.

Cllr Davies has been a County Councillor since May 2017 and is a member of Llandovery Town Council, having served as Mayor in 2021/22 and 2022/23.  He has also been a member of Llanfairarybryn Community Council since 2017.

Councillor Davies has retired from his former employment as Department Head of Building Control with Carmarthenshire County Council, but keeps himself busy with many interests.  These include being President and Life Member of Llandovery RFC; Member of Friends of Llandovery Hospital; Chair of Cylch Cinio Cymraeg Llanymddyfri; Trustee of Llandovery Museum; Trustee and Vice-Chair of Ysgol Feithrin Tre Ficer, Llandovery; Vice-Chair of Côr Meibion Llanymddyfri; Captain of Llandovery Golf Club.

During his / her year of office the Chair of the County Council usually raises funds for local charities.  Councillor Davies will continue this excellent tradition and will be supporting LATCH Welsh Children’s Cancer Charity and Prostate Cymru.

Handel’s wife, Margaret, is his Consort this year.

The Chair is the first citizen of Carmarthenshire County Council, and is elected at the Annual Meeting.  The duties include chairing full meetings of the Council and representing the Council at formal and ceremonial occasions in the County and beyond.  He / she also welcomes visitors to the County and attends and supports events organised by local people and organisations.

The Vice-Chair for 2024/2025 is Councillor Dot Jones.