Council departments

The Corporate Management Team, led by the Chief Executive, oversees the day-to-day operation of the council's services. The Council’s Corporate Structure is made up of five Directorates which are responsible for the following service areas:

Chief Executives

  • Chief Executive, Leader and Cabinet support
  • Corporate communications
  • Corporate policy and partnership
  • Corporate strategy
  • Democratic services
  • Electoral and registration services
  • Information technology
  • Legal services
  • People management and performance
  • Performance management
  • Regeneration and property

Education and Children Services

  • Corporate Parenting and child welfare
  • Family support
  • Sustainable Communities for Learning
  • Learner inclusion
  • Safeguarding children and young people
  • Adult community learning
  • Early Years childcare, play and education
  • Youth support service
  • Fostering and adoption support services
  • Support services for supporting learner behaviour
  • School services – catering, music, admissions and governance
  • School improvement and learner progress
  • Transition arrangements and support for children and young people with complex needs
  • Welsh in Education

Corporate Services 

  • Accountancy and financial management
  • Creditor payments
  • Corporate procurement
  • Internal audit
  • Payroll control
  • Pensions administration
  • Revenues & Housing Benefits Services
  • Revenue services
  • Risk management
  • Treasury management and pension investments


  • Adult safeguarding
  • Care and support
  • Carmarthenshire Home standards+
  • Cultural services
  • Environmental protection
  • Home care
  • Housing repairs and maintenance
  • Independent living
  • Licensing
  • Mental health and learning disability services
  • Older people and physical disability services
  • Outdoor recreation
  • Public protection
  • Sport and leisure

Place and Infrastructure

  • Building control
  • Emergency planning
  • Environmental and planning enforcement
  • Flood risk management
  • Highway infrastructure management
  • Passenger Transport
  • Planning and conservation
  • Property/architectural design and maintenance
  • Public rights of way
  • Street cleansing, litter and grounds maintenance
  • Traffic management, road safety and car parking
  • Waste management and recycling
  • Engineering Design
  • Fleet Management

Council & Democracy