School term and holiday dates

Page updated on: 19/10/2020

Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Our schools are taking immediate action as soon as it's known a pupil or member of staff has tested positive for Covid-19.

The process of testing and contact tracing is part of the ‘new normal’ and where schools follow these guidelines carefully, there is no cause for alarm.

Pupils over 11 years old will be required to wear face coverings on school transport and in school indoor communal areas where social distancing cannot be maintained, unless they have a medical exemption.

Please continue to visit our Newsroom for the latest information. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

Print this page

Term Term begins Half Term Term Ends
Summer 2020  -  -  Friday 17th July
Autumn 2020 Wednesday 2nd September Monday 26th October - Friday 30th October Friday 18th December
Spring 2021 Tuesday 5th January Monday 15th February - Friday 19th February Friday 26th March
Summer 2021 Monday 12th April Monday 31st May - Friday 4th June Friday 16th July
Autumn 2021 Thursday 2nd September Monday 25th October - Friday 29th October Tuesday 21st December
Spring 2022 Tuesday 4th January Monday 21st February - Friday 25th February Friday 8th April
Summer 2022 Monday 25th April  Monday 30th May - Friday 3rd June Tuesday 19th July

Designated INSET Days

  • Monday 6th January 2020
  • Monday, 21st December 2020
  • Tuesday, 22nd December 2020
  • Monday 4th January 2021
  • Wednesday 1st September 2021

For school specific INSET days, please contact the relevant school. Usually, schools have 5 INSET days during the academic year (including the designated days).

Please note: The Welsh Government has enabled schools to close to pupils for an additional INSET day during the summer terms in 2020, 2021 and 2022, for the specific purpose of Professional Learning to prepare for the realisation of the new curriculum.

Good Friday

  • 10th April 2020
  • 2nd April 2021
  • 15th April 2022

May Day

  • 8th May 2020
  • 3rd May 2021
  • 2nd May 2022

Please note that this calendar is subject to any changes that may arise as a result of government policy decisions. We do not accept liability for any losses incurred in respect of altered holiday arrangements following such changes.

Education & Schools