Duke of Edinburgh Award

Page updated on: 17/04/2024

The Duke of Edinburgh award is a challenging programme of activities which will help you learn new skills, help others, experience adventure and give a great sense of achievement. What’s more, many organisations, such as employers and universities love it and what it says about you as person.

The DofE is a four-Section programme with three levels:

  • Bronze (for aged 14 and over)
  • Silver (for aged 15 and over) and
  • Gold (for aged 16 and over).

For each level you have 4 sections to complete:

  • Volunteering  
  • Skills
  • Physical
  • Expedition
  • Residential (Gold Award only)

It would usually take you between 6-12 months to complete a Bronze Award; 12-18 months for a Silver Award and 18-24 months for a Gold Award. It may take less time to complete the Silver or Gold Award if you have completed the preceding award. All awards must be completed by your 25th birthday.

There are two Open Award groups for people who do not wish to do the DofE Award via school/college or are in work or unemployed.

Where Location / Group name Contact details
Secondary schools All the secondary schools run the DofE Award (except Glan-y-Môr, but plans are in progress presently). Alison Owen-Yeates
Coleg Sir Gâr Graig campus Tanya Knight

Coleg Sir Gâr  Ammanford Campus Matthew Jones

Explorer Scout Unit Ammanford: Twrch Trwyth Alison Owen-Yeates
 Explorer Scout Unit Carmarthen: Merlin’s Alison Owen-Yeates
 Explorer Scout Unit Llanelli: Scarlet Dragons Alison Owen-Yeates
 Explorer Scout Unit Burry Port: Kymer Kites Alison Owen-Yeates
 Explorer Scout Unit Llandovery: Black Ox Alison Owen-Yeates
Open Award Group Carmarthen David Drinkall
Lyn Lewis
Open Award Group Llanelli Alison Owen-Yeates

Education & Schools