Page updated on: 23/10/2023

Carmarthenshire is divided into 72 Town and Community Councils with 135 seats. Elections for all of Carmarthenshire’s Town and Community seats take place every five years normally on the first Thursday in May. A councillor who is elected to serve on the Town or Community council will begin their term of office on the fourth day after the election.

In between each five year term, Community councillors can resign, become disqualified or unfortunately pass away. When this happen the Clerk of the Town or Community Council must give public notice of the vacancy.

If 10 electors of the ward wish for this vacancy to be filled by an election then we will hold a by-election to fill the seat. If no request to hold an election is received then the relevant Town or Community Council can co-opt someone to fill the vacancy.

Council & Democracy